Is Pudding Gluten-Free? This Is What You Need To Know

is-pudding -gluten-free-feature-image
15 min read
(Last Updated On: April 8, 2021)

Truth About the presence of Gluten in Pudding

It mostly depends upon you, what type of pudding you choose to go with!

Well, today we will take an in-depth look at, Is The Pudding You Take Gluten Free!! 

Moving ahead, you will also encounter several case studies and research statistics regarding Gluten. 

For better understanding, we have taken many aspects of Gluten and Pudding separately too. 

Excited! Now, let’s dive into the topic which brought you here.

Side Note: Ensure that if you aren’t clear about the terms (gluten and pudding), then it will become difficult for you to get the things right.

A Short Intro To Gluten And Pudding

Short Intro To Pudding And Gluten

Before directly jumping to, Is Gluten Present In Your Puddings, let’s have a short intro to gluten and pudding. 

Gluten is a group of Proteins present in endosperms of several kinds of cereal and grains.

It acts as an elastic and holds up your food together.

For better understanding – “Think of pizza, which makes it more Tossed and Stretchable.”

Gluten is mostly present in your day to day foods, which Include Wheat, Barley, Rye, oats.

Like many types of foods in the world, there is no universally accepted definition of “Pudding.” Its definition changes from Country to Country. 

Usually as a Term in your day to day life pudding refers or denotes – as a kind or type of food that can either be a dessert or a savoury (Salt or Spicy).

Let’s look at how pudding sounds like from different corners of the world. 

According to Wikipedia In the United States and Some parts of Canada Pudding is mainly referred to as “Sweet Desserts Food and Milk Based Dishes”.

While, in countries like the UK and some commonwealth countries, they get named “Sweet and Savoury- Curds “.

Is Pudding Gluten-Free? Breaking Down The Facts

is pudding gluten-free

The question doesn’t have an accurate answer, meaning single worded (like yes or no). In plain text – it mainly depends on your choice and the type of pudding you chose to go with.

Always Keep In Mind

“If a pudding contains wheat or cereals as a core ingredient, then they surely would contain some amount of Gluten.

As every kind of cereal and wheat contains significant amount of gluten in them.

The three main factors to consider under this topic are:

  • What About Brands Of Pudding? 
  • What to do in restaurants?
  • An Eye To Ingredients and Labels Of Pudding

What About Brands Of Pudding? 

When it comes to the brand, it is your choice to choose an excellent or good product which is the best match for you and your family?

For gluten intolerant people, the best decision for you is to twig with a particular brand who produces or markets itself as a gluten-free product.

Why am I recommending you this kind of selection?

First, Because the product which are marked as a gluten-free product has to pass through a lot of allegiances.

Second, next time if you go to the market to purchase a gluten-free product it becomes easier for you to purchase the product daily or weekly without thinking much. 

What to do in restaurants?

Simply when you go to order your pudding in a restaurant simply ask the server about the core or main ingredients. 

Like, ask precisely about presence of wheat, flour and other ingredients high in gluten (discussed in following section).

An Eye To Ingredients and Labels Of Pudding

Avoiding ingredients that are high in Gluten that includes- yeast, wheat, rye, barley, flour, and malt can be a great decision. And, specially for those who want to have gluten-free puddings. 

Corn-starch, fruits, and jello puddings are almost Gluten-free and are safe for your consumption.

If you want to read more about super healthy grains which are Gluten-free, check this out.

The two main reasons behind the label, the brands do not want to mention in their product as 100% gluten-free:

1. The very first reason is they add preservatives and flavour to save these foods. These preservatives most of the times contain some amount of gluten in them. But, that’s too little to harm your health.

2. If you can manage to find a pudding, which is marked or labelled Gluten-free, then you can go with it. 

It’s because the products or makers undergo a lot of commitment and cross-checks of FDA before they shoot a product with such labels.

Also Read: How to Treat You Nasal Valve Collapse

Identifying The Type Of Pudding You Take

The presence of gluten in puddings varies due type of ingredients they contain. 

Let’s identify some most popular puddings, separating them into gluten-containing and gluten-free. 

You can match them with the puddings you take in your diet. And, ensure if your pudding is gluten-free or not.

Below is a list of some common and well-liked savoury and desserts pudding which is loved worldwide.

We will have a short analysis of each of them, one-by-one.

  • Rice Pudding    
  • Creamy Pudding
  • Yorkshire Pudding 
  • Bread Pudding 
  • Jell-O Pudding
  • Instant Pudding

Side Note: As told above, for different countries the name of these popular pudding varies, so don’t confuse with names. Look into the ingredients instead.

Rice Pudding

As the name suggests, this type of pudding is made from rice mixed with water, raisins, and cinnamon. These ingredients are a staple diet in Asian countries. 

Main Ingredients

  • Rice, cereal or grain
  • Milk or Water
  • Raisins and cinnamon

For people with Gluten intolerance, they must avoid these types of pudding.

As the ingredients denote that rice pudding contains gluten in them.

Creamy Pudding

Most of the creamy Puddings are Gluten-free.

Just ensure that the creamy pudding does not contain cereals, rice, or any kind of dairy product (high in gluten sources) as its main ingredient. 

Main Ingredient

  • Sugar
  • Milk or water 
  • Thickening agents such as corn-starch, eggs, and tapioca

So yes, you are thinking right. People with gluten intolerance are free to take this type of pudding. 

Once more, ensure that it does not contain wheat, cereal or any gluten-containing ingredient.

Yorkshire Pudding

Yorkshire puddings are popular as a western dish. And it’s a part of every Sunday Roast (Traditional British Meal).

Main Ingredients

  • Flour 
  • Eggs
  • Milk or water

With Yorkshire Pudding, you must be careful that it may contain little or a bit of Gluten in it. 

For gluten tolerant people, Yorkshire pudding is a strict no. While people who can tolerate it to a mid extent, are free to take it.

Bread Pudding

Depending on whether the pudding is savory or sweet bread pudding may contain a variety of ingredients such as sugar, honey, dried fruits, as well as species such as cinnamon, nutmeg, and mace.

Main Ingredients

Stale Bread Combination of (milk, eggs, suet sugar and dried fruit)

Due to the high amount of Gluten present in it. It is much more similar to rice pudding, and you should steer clear of them.

Jell-O Pudding

It is made from gelatin (protein extracted from the skins and bones of individual animals), flavoured agents, natural or artificial sweeteners, and synthetic food dyes.

The problem is that it contains some artificial sweeteners and synthetic food dyes, which contain Gluten in them.

If you are a US resident, Kraft puddings would be the best go-to option for Jell-O. They are very clear about their ingredient.

Even if they include rye, oats or barley, they mention it clearly on their labels.

The bottom line? If you are mildly gluten sensitive, you can include Jello in your diet and meals without thinking or worrying much, and you can effectively treat it as Gluten-free.

But if you are a bit more of gluten-sensitive, you need to check out labels and brands.

Instant Pudding

Instant puddings are the ones made from immediate food products manufactured in powder form. 

It is the mixture of sugar, corn-starch, flavours, and few ingredients and often used to create baking foods or goods. 

Main Ingredients

  • Sugar 
  • Flavoring agents
  • Thickeners as primary ingredients

Mainly the US and Europe produce instant pudding gluten-free products.

The best way to see the Ingredients is in the label of the products and brands.

The best answer could be, if you do not have enough time then simply you can go to supermarkets or grocery stores and jump to the corner marked with gluten-free products.

It’s a better option only if you don’t have enough time for yourself. 

But if you have time, then I would recommend you to make your gluten-free pudding recipes at home. 

Now you must be wondering, how to make gluten-free pudding recipes.

Well here’s the list. It contains 20+ popular pudding recipes which are completely untouched by gluten.

Overview

Let’s put up everything at one place for your convenience. We will classify every discussed type into tree categories: Gluten containing, Gluten Free and Moderate Gluten Present.

Type Of PuddingHigh In GlutenModerate In GlutenGluten-Free
1. Rice Pudding
2. Creamy Pudding
3. Yorkshire Pudding
4. Bread Pudding
5. Jello-O Pudding
6. Instant Pudding
Pudding Comparison Table

Hope that most of your doubts are clear by now.

Still, some of your might be thinking, why should you cut down on gluten. Does it harm your health? And many more questions like such.

Let’s cover them up in the next section.

Also Read: How to benefit form selenite crystals?

Diving Lil Bit Deeper Into Gluten

If you followed me till here, then you must be aware of, what gluten is! Well, to remind you once more, gluten is a protein group present in the endosperm of cereal and grains. 

Now, let’s look into some more aspects of gluten. Like – Does Gluten have any health benefits? Or, Whom does it affect the most? What’s gluten sensitivity and is it real? And a bit of study conducted by several organisations.

Let’s dive right in!!

Side Note: If something doesn’t match your choice, feel free to use our jump up table at the top.

Differentiating Gluten-Free Grains From Gluten Containing Ones

Now, you may have thought or questioned that if most of the foods contain gluten, then all people in this world have suffered from the downside of gluten.

What’s the answer?  No, definitely not. Why? For, this you need to understand difference between gluten-free and gluten containing grains.

Here the difference between gluten-free and gluten-containing grains.

Gluten-Free Grains 

Grain which contains Gluten from cross-contamination when they grow near which include Sorghum, oats, quinoa, buckwheat, corn, and teff, are super healthy for you.

Don’t know what cross-contamination is? Well, let me explain it to you.

Cross-contamination simply means the transfer of any micro-organisms.

This transfer includes bacteria, fungi, or any other microorganism from an infected substance to a substance which is free from microorganisms. 

Many times, it also includes the transfer of food allergens (e.g., egg, soy, peanuts, etc.), toxins, and some chemicals too.

However, Gluten-Free grains that are listed above are labelled to comply with the US Food Drug and Administrations guidelines.

Gluten Containing Grains 

Mostly, the grains containing Gluten are wheat berries, wheat barn, spelt, graham, faro, and farina.

As they do not comply with the above-mentioned US Food Drug and Administration’s T&C. We can’t say them Gluten-free products.

Does Gluten have any health benefits?

There’s no health benefits of Gluten known yet, but still, Gluten and wheat are suitable for some people but not for others.

In short, its effect varies from people to people.

Some Important Benefit you and your body get from gluten is that they may act as prebiotics ( substances which arrive from different types of carbs (mostly fibre) that humans can’t digest the beneficial bacteria in your gut eat this fibre) in your body. 

AXOS (Arabinoxylan oligosaccharide) is a prebiotic (bacteria) derived from wheat bran (which is a gluten-containing grain) and these bacteria most of the time present in healthy people’s gut.

Also Read: Veneers vs Crowns Breaking down the difference

 

What do studies say about Gluten?

study on gluten

The amount of study which we did while going through several studies and cases were overwhelming and surprising.

So, let’s directly get to the matter of fact.

During a study in 2010- 2014, a group of participants was tested for celiac disease(a disease in which the inner lining of your small intestine leads to destruction and inflammation).

The conclusion drawn from the study was,  

“People who were not affected by celiac disease, there was no relationship between their long-term dietary gluten-consumption and risk of getting heart disease.” 

In-plane text, it means that these types of people have the least chances of getting heart disease if they increase their gluten consumption by some amount.

Several studies also associated the relationship between whole grains consumption and improved health consequences.

One more study was conducted on two groups, group “A” was given the highest serving of whole grains (2-3 meals) as compared to group “B” (less than two servings daily). 

The conclusion drawn out was, Group “B” people establish a significantly lower rate of heart disease, stroke, and development of Type 2 diabetes as compared to Group “A.”

Therefore, Gluten-free -diet Is necessarily essential for people who are more prone with celiac disease.

However, a Gluten-free diet still may be a healthy way to eat if you choose Gluten-free foods.

Some of these include lean meats, low-fat dairy, whole gluten-free grains as listed above, and healthy fats.

Simply – If You respond negatively with Gluten containing the product, then you need to avoid these and discuss your symptoms with a doctor.

A gluten-free diet might be helpful for some people with gastrointestinal diseases, which include irritable bowel syndrome, type 1 diabetes, colorectal cancer, and many more

Whom does gluten affect the most?

The brutal thing about Gluten is that it can cause a severe effect on Both Adults and Children if they have celiac disease. 

So, What Is Celiac Disease?

Celiac disease is a chronic digestive disorder resulting from an autoimmune disorder (Immune System Responds Abnormally to Gluten) that affects only 1% of the population, but 83% of them are undiagnosed with other conditions.

A recent study found that people with celiac disease may have a slightly higher risk of osteoporosis and anemia.

Children and Adults both may experience different symptoms.

Look at the below image By NCBI -From different age groups have different symptoms of those who have celiac disease. 

NCBI research data on gluten content

 If a person has celiac disease, he or she may result in inflammation and the above symptoms as in Table 1. 

An Overview of Gluten Sensitivity

Gluten sensitivity is defined as people having adverse effects or severe reactions to Gluten in their bodies.

Still, it does not have celiac disease or coeliac disease.” 

Please make sure that gluten sensitivity and celiac disease both are different terms and have different symptoms(1,2).

People who suffer from gluten sensitivity are more likely to have different symptoms than celiac disease.

The symptoms could be bloating, stomach pain, diarrhoea, stomach pain, erythema, headaches, weight loss, flatulence, fatigue, and mood swings.

Can Gluten Sensitivity be real?

Yes, they are real and exist for some while not for other.

The person who reacts negatively to wheat and Gluten contains foods are gluten sensitive while, those who don’t are gluten insensitive.

The only solution for people with high gluten sensitivity is to avoid these foods and not take pudding that isn’t marked as Gluten-free.

If you are not much of gluten sensitivity or medium sensitivity, simply consider having whole foods free from Gluten naturally.

You may also like to check the clear packaged gluten-free products and select the ones labelled as Gluten-free.

So yep, gluten sensitivity is real for someone who is suffering from it but not for everyone.

Final Thoughts

It’s all about finding balance in Life.

Pudding is important in someone’s life and not for others. For taste of mouth you can have it but not every time.

And for those who are very very addictive to it go for a gluten free pudding or else homemade pudding 

All Puddings are not Gluten-free, but in general, there are some considerable types of pudding that are gluten-free.

Probably the most secure way for you to look at a list of ingredients or take advice from your dietitian or a practitioner.

FAQ

What Pudding Is Gluten-Free?

Some popular gluten-free pudding recipes include: Chocolate Pudding Popsicles Made from Avocado, unbaked Pudding Chocolate Pie, Paleo chocolate Mousse and unbaked banana split case.

Do Potatoes Have Gluten?

Yes, potatoes are gluten-free. So, a good news for gluten intolerant people, they can have recipes made with potatoes in any form.

Do bananas have gluten?

All fruits whether it be banana, papaya or apple, are gluten free. They may contain gluten only if they are processed (like include a layer or flavoring or colored agents).

What Instant pudding is gluten-free?

Though there’s no instant pudding marked as gluten free still Jell-O instant pudding is regarded a safe go to option for people with celiac disease.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
2 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Purushottam
Purushottam
5 months ago

Damn Great content. The idea to lead the content part by part was really thoughtful. Everyone consumes pudding these days but rarely they get to know whether it is gluten-free or not. This post is the best fit for them.

house disinfection service
house disinfection service
4 months ago

Hello all, here every person is sharing suh know-how, so it’s pleasant to read thiss website, and I used
to go to see this website daily.

Scroll to top
Share via
Copy link